Author Topic: The Flight Deck: The Life of an Alliance Ace  (Read 2690 times)

Offline RebelAce

• Wedge Antilles' Wingman
  • Lieutenant
  • "Good Luck! See you at the rendezvous!"
The Flight Deck: The Life of an Alliance Ace
« on: January 05, 2012, 01:22:05 AM »
1-5-12

New year, new opportunities is the mantra to kick off this new year.  Ever since I graduated high school, my career has mostly been underground mining.  It's a long time family tradition, and aside from that it's a great paying job around here in Indiana.  We were told in a meeting before the holidays that there were going to be some layoffs come the new year due to loss of coal contracts to other companies.  Well the the new year has come and gone, and I find myself on the short end of the stick so to speak.  Myself, along with about twenty others were let go. Figures.  So here I am on the outside looking in as far as employment goes.  I'm not totally unemployed, I have fallen back working as a small time bartender to maintain rent and gas money.  As I type this blog, I am researching other "trade" skills to look into and wanting/hoping I can get an apprenticeship somewhere.  I enjoyed working underground, but the field is too unstable and people lose their jobs too easily it feels like.  It's time for a change.  I'll try to keep this spot posted on that.