Author Topic: college educations...  (Read 1657 times)

Offline spudafett

• Mando Master
  • Moff
  • He's no good to me mashed!
    • deviant art
college educations...
« on: September 10, 2009, 08:28:08 PM »
Just thought it'd be intersting to hear what everyone has went to school for, how much they completed, and what they did with their education for those who are finished.

as for me, I'm in my last semester of school at Murray State University in Kentucky and if all goes well will recieve a bachelors degree for Environmental Geology.  I haven't realy decided on doing grad school and going for my masters as of yet and will probably take a break from school and get some real world job experience before doing so....

as for jobs... I realy don't know what I'll be doing.  It's been my dream to move out west to wyoming or arizona and work at some of the big national parks dealing with geology and/or paleontology.  I realy loved vacationing out there and would realy like to work at Fossil Butte National Monument.  Fossil Butte has the worlds best fossil record of eocene fresh water fauna in the world...  I brought back litterally tons of fossil fish when I went out there 2 years ago....
I have also been considering looking into positions at Dinosaur National Monument or the Grand Canyon.

My only fear with the national park system is that to go anywhere with them you have to start out as a seasonal worker doing very meanial jobs...  I would have to get my masters to start out as a staff geologist or something like that. :(

Other choices I might have is possibly working for an oil company or the USGS (united states geological survey).  unfourtunately everything I've looked at so far again want master's degrees or so many years of on the job experience.... 

I have also considered being a stay at home dad and selling customs full time!  :P  lol